Monday, May 11, 2009

This Week's Music (May 12, 2009)

Welcome back to the weekly new music roundup, where I will try highlighting some of tomorrow's interesting/major music releases.

This week's music releases are a hodgepodge at best. We've got Afroman of "Because I Got High" fame coming back with Frobama, and bands like The Meat Puppets and The Church are dropping albums as well.

On top of that, there are actually a couple of albums coming out on a nontraditional day. This Friday, May 15, marks the release of Green Day's 21st Century Breakdown (probably the biggest release of the week). And Coldplay will be giving out a free nine-track live album (LeftRightLeft) at shows and on their website.

Last but not least, Blur guitar Graham Coxon (one of my favorites) will be releasing his new solo album The Spinning Top tomorrow for those of us in the US. Watch him do a special rooftop performance of his single "Sorrow's Army" for the NME during this year's SXSW festival below. A list of this week's releases follows.

Albums, Singles, EPs:
Afroman - Frobama
Cam'Ron - Crime Pays
The Church - Untitled #23
Graham Coxon - The Spinning Top (Import)
The Crystal Method - Divided by Night
Steve Earle - Townes; 2 CD Limited Edition; Vinyl
Green Day - 21st Century Breakdown (release on May 15)
The Maccabees - Wall of Arms (Import)
Marmaduke Duke - Pandemonium (Import)
Maximo Park - Quicken the Heart; Vinyl
Meat Puppets - Sewn Together
Hikaru Utada - This is the One
Paul Wall - Fast Life
The Wooden Birds - Magnolia; Vinyl
Wussy - Wussy

Reissues, Box Sets:
Shirley Bassey - This Is My Life?Does Anybody Miss Me? (Import)
Bill Evans - Turn Out the Stars: Final Village Vanguard Recordings
Joan Jett & The Blackhearts - I Love Rock N' Roll (Vinyl)
Saint Etienne - Continental (with bonus disc; import)
Saint Etienne - Foxbase Alpha (with bonus disc)
VNV Nation - Reformation 01

Michael Giacchino - LOST: Season 4 (Original TV Soundtrack)
Hans Zimmer - Angels and Demons

No comments:

Post a Comment