Tuesday, April 14, 2009

Record Store Day - April 18

Saturday, April 18th will mark the second annual Record Store Day, which is described as "the one day that all of the independently owned record stores come together with artists to celebrate the art of music." A huge number of exclusives, including many vinyl releases, from artists ranging from Bob Dylan to Slayer to Brandi Carlile will be offered on the 18th.

According to the Record Store Day website and an April 1 news entry on the Coachella music festival site, exclusive releases will include:

  • Wilco's new DVD (indie stores and band website)
  • a 7" from The Decemberists
  • vinyl releases from Radiohead
  • a CD and a limited-run double 10" vinyl live recording from My Morning Jacket
  • a double 7" of live tracks from Tom Waits and Lucinda Williams
  • split singles from Sonic Youth with Beck and Jay Reatard
  • Jesus Lizard's specially packaged set of nine 7" singles
  • Guided By Voices' re-release of their Hold on Hope LP, including three bonus tracks
  • exclusive 7" singles from Bob Dylan, Bruce Springsteen and Leonard Cohen
  • Def Jam's 4 LP gatefold of their music label history
  • additional items from artists including the Black Kids, Brandi Carlile, Jane's Addiction, MC5, Metric, Modest Mouse, Rivers Cuomo, Slipknot, The Smiths, The Stooges and Taking Back Sunday.
For a list of participating record stores in your state (or country, for those outside of the US), visit the Record Store Day site.

No comments:

Post a Comment